Conway the Machine & Conductor Williams “Conductor Machine” Album Review

Conductor Machine

Conway the Machine & Conductor Williams

  • Genre: Hip-Hop/Rap
  • Date: 01 Dec, 2023
  • Content: explicit
  • Track(s): 7
  • ℗ 2023 Near Mint and Many Hats Distribution

Conway The Machine &Amp; Conductor Williams &Quot;Conductor Machine&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, March 2, 2024

Conductor Williams and Conway The Machine finally joined forces to release the highly anticipated Conductor Machine EP on Friday, December 1. Their collaboration was worth the wait, as the seven-song project showcases the duo’s undeniable synergy. Conway’s raw and honest lyrics blend seamlessly with Conductor Williams’ soulful, hard-hitting music, resulting in a captivating and immersive listening experience. Fans of both artists are sure to be pleased with the EP’s release, which establishes Conway and Conductor as a formidable combo in the hip-hop scene. Overall, the Conductor Machine EP is a testament to the power of collaboration and the potential for great things when two talented artists come together.

And now for Buffalo rapper Conway the Machine’s 12th EP.

Conway the Machine is one of the original three members of Griselda Records, and he has been dominating the hip-hop scene since 2015. Along with his brother Westside Gunn and cousin Benny the Butcher, Conway’s music features boom-bap production similar to RZA and Havoc’s and vividly describes their lives in the streets. Conway has an unwavering work ethic that balances quality and quantity, and his full-length debut album, “From King to a God,” was nominated for “Album of the Year” in several hip-hop circles in 2020. His sophomore album, “God Don’t Make Mistakes,” supported by Shady Records, is his most personal work. Fans have been blown away by tracks like “Organized Grime 2,” “What Has Been Blessed Cannot Be Cursed,” and “Won’t He Do It,” created by Big Ghost Ltd. And now, they can feast their ears on “Conductor Machine,” entirely produced by GxF in-house producer Conductor Williams of The Heartbreakers.


Album Art

Conway The Machine &Amp; Conductor Williams &Quot;Conductor Machine&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, March 2, 2024

The artwork on the album Art is a fascinating painting that combines human faces with their skeletons in a dynamic and creative exhibition. The picture combines the ideas of life and death intriguingly by showcasing a stunning combination of vivid colours and minute details. It encapsulates the core of the human experience, arousing various feelings and profoundly impacting everyone who sees it.

Tracks And Features

The EP’s lyrical lead track, “Blessings of the King,” sweetly flaunts how sick and fly he is, while “Believe Me,” which adds a jazzy boom-bap flair to the music, proclaims that the OG’s are back. “Blessings of the King” sets the tone for the EP with its beautiful melodies and poignant lyrics, demonstrating the artist’s tremendous talent and charisma. In the meantime, “Believe Me” asserts the artist’s legitimacy in the current music landscape while invoking nostalgia with its jazzy boom-bap sound that brings listeners back to the heyday of hip-hop.

“Noir” introduces pianos, kicks, and snares while inquiring what you want from him. This leads into “Higher,” which takes a more psychedelic approach to the beat and talks about how it’s getting spooky up here once more. With “Noir,” the EP takes a daring turn, fusing piano, kicks, and snares to create an engaging sound that defies listeners’ preconceptions. This song flows into “Higher,” where the artist explores a more psychedelic sound and creates a spooky atmosphere that adds an intriguing element to the storyline of the EP as a whole.

The industrial trap beat of “Flame” is cyclical and has excellent locomotive machinery sampling. 7xvethegenius, one of the first artists signed to Drumwork Music Group, collaborates with Con on “Flame,” hoping to drop some hardcore lyricism over a soul sample. “Church Fan” features the label’s first recording artist, Jae Skeese, who spits that higher power rap with his mentor La Maquina and pulls from gospel music.

7xvethegenius and Con’s collaboration on “Flame” features a distinctive fusion of genres, fusing soulful sampling with an industrial trap beat. Their divergent approaches produce a dynamic energy that prepares the listener for Jae Skeese’s strong lyrics on “Church Fan.” Along with his instructor, La Maquina, Jae Skeese incorporates gospel music influences into his rap, resulting in an enthralling blend of spirituality and unadulterated poetry.

With its powerful vocals, “Love the Lord” brings the album to a fitting close, likening his rhymebook to a priceless asset. The song exemplifies Jae Skeese’s skill in fusing his spiritual convictions with his poetic talent, making it a powerful and thought-provoking way to close the album. He leaves listeners with a lasting impression of his skill and artistry by incorporating heavy vocal chops that add passion and emotion.


1 Blessings of the King Conway the Machine & Conductor Williams 2:01
2 Believe Me Conway the Machine & Conductor Williams 2:26
3 Noir Conway the Machine & Conductor Williams 2:31
4 Higher Conway the Machine & Conductor Williams 2:10
5 Flame Conway the Machine, Conductor Williams & 7xvethegenius 1:57
6 Church Fan Conway the Machine, Conductor Williams & Jae Skeese 2:42
7 Love the Lord Conway the Machine & Conductor Williams 1:58


Album Summary

Conductor Williams is an artist with a unique and distinctive style that will capture many listeners’ attention. His use of unusual samples in his beats adds an exciting layer to his music, even when they fall flat, such as the strange Thriller sample. However, the samples may sometimes feel a little forced and tacked on to the song’s structure.

When it comes to the beats, they are generally relaxed, but upon closer inspection, they reveal intricate complexities that showcase Williams’ skill and attention to detail. Combined with Conway The Machine’s raw and unrefined lyrics, Williams’s unique production creates a masterpiece with an authentic resonance that will leave a lasting impression on the listener.


Back to top button