Willie Nelson Announces “The Border,” His Forthcoming 75th Album

Funny how time flies, yet Willie Nelson never ceases to astound his fans with brand-new songs.

The singer’s 75th studio album, The Border, will be released on May 31, according to the country music icon’s announcement on Thursday. In addition to sharing the album’s title track and first single, a rendition of Rodney Cowell’s 2019 song from his album Texas, Nelson, 90, made another big announcement.

The Border will feature 10 songs in total, four of which were co-written by Nelson and his frequent partner Buddy Cannon. The Border will come out in September 2023, right after Nelson’s most recent EP, Bluegrass. The album news was released on the same day that Nelson is scheduled to host his Luck Reunion at his Texas ranch, with performances by Madi Diaz, John Oates, Tyler Childers, and Old Crow Medicine Show.

The “Riders in the Sky” singer, together with Family band, Bob Dylan, Robert Plant & Allison Krause, and John Mellencamp, will embark on his yearly Outlaw Music Festival Tour this summer. Country music sensation Brittney Spencer, soul singer Celisse, five-piece Memphis band Southern Avenue, and bluegrass musician Billy Strings will all perform at the festival on a few dates.

Beginning on June 21 in Alpharetta, Georgia, and running through the summer, the Outlaw Music Festival this year concludes on September 17 in Buffalo, New York.

Back to top button