6ix9ine “BLACKBALLED” Album Review


6ix9ine, an American rapper signed to Supers Wherehouse Inc., has just dropped a new studio album titled “BLACKBALLED.” Yailin la Más Viral & Kodak Black make appearances on the subpar nine-track album.

Album Cover Art

6Ix9Ine &Quot;Blackballed&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, March 2, 2024

Set in a cartoonish desert, an animated version of the rapper has his feet in chains while he attempts to steady his stance as he raises a literal blackball, indicating he’s actually owning the cancelled status of his career.

Also, to the right, there’s a faint rainbow that stretches across the sky even when the weather in the backdrop does not support it. But, of course, it’s more of a statement.

Tracks and Features

G LOCK starts off the record on an unnecessarily rowdy note. The producer does his best to save this song by handing 6ix a fantastic hip-hop beat, over which he kind of performed not too shabbily. The pitfall would be the very hollow lyrics that didn’t even require that much energy and yelling to deliver. But he also saved us the agony of having to listen to this any longer than we should by stuffing all that noise about a gangster lifestyle that doesn’t suit him into a playtime that comes under 2 minutes.

Annnd the noise continues in GOOO, which is really what everyone wants him to do at this point. The flow is the same, and he keeps going strong with his overly loud rapping style, which everyone can agree is clearly unnecessary. Of course, he’s still on about the gangsta ting, piping chicks with his guys, and other crap that suggests he basically enjoys his dealings with criminals. It would do 6ix9ine a lot of good to realize that this gangster lifestyle he’s trying so hard to force is really not for him.

In FAH, he updates his gangster status to shooter, and brags about murking the opps and doing all sorts of gun-related stuff. All that hard talk coming from a snitch will never add up to the streets he claims to be a part of, which makes the entire song pretty cringe to listen to. Let’s not even get into how absurd it sounds when he uses the n-word. Is this guy even really comfortable in his skin? However, besides all the faux macho talk, he does deliver not too terribly.

The clowning doesn’t stop in 100 WAYS, where he wonders why some guys are “pussy”? Seriously?? This is exactly what people mean when they say “the kettle is calling the pot ‘black.'” This is also why 6ix9ine remains blackballed; talking all that hard shit on wax but chickening out of the real deal in real life. Hip-hop will never take this man seriously, neither should you. 6ix should really consider dry humor sometime because this song is a joke, and not a good one.

He includes some trap-singing in BUDDY that also has the recurring theme of violence and promiscuity. The chorus’ melody and how it overlaps with the beat doesn’t sound so bad.

In NADA he seems to be pissed at a girl who lets every guy have their way just to get a fancy bag. In the same intense, energetic style of rapping, he talks about his ability to match the player ways of player babes even though he would rather not deal with that. Theme-wise, this one seemed to take a different route, but it still doesn’t make it a good song.

SHAKA LAKA featuring Yailin la Mas Viral & Kodak Black closes the 9-track album with a surprisingly melodious rendition from 6ix, even though the main attractions were his guest features. And speaking of, it would shock anyone to see somebody like Kodak collaborating with the tattoo-designed artist, but you also cannot sleep on $1million, which was what Kodak reportedly received for his appearance.


# Title Artist(s) Duration
1 G LOCK 6ix9ine 1:33
2 GOOO 6ix9ine 2:15
3 FAH 6ix9ine 2:04
4 100 WAYS 6ix9ine 1:48
5 BUDDY 6ix9ine 2:08
6 SIMMY 6ix9ine 1:40
7 NADA 6ix9ine 1:30
8 FEEFAFO Yailin la Mas Viral, 6ix9ine & Ben El Tavori 3:12
9 SHAKA LAKA (feat. Kodak Black) 6ix9ine & Yailin la Mas Viral 2:58

Album Theme

Celebrating the rather forced gangster/street lifestyle of a cancelled but seemingly successful rapper.

Production Credits

Producers on the record include Mauro, Mauro “El Código Secreto”, TrifeDrew & Yung Dza.


Back to top button