SoFaygo “Go+” Album Review



  • Genre: Hip-Hop/Rap
  • Date: 14 Jun, 2023
  • Content: explicit
  • Track(s): 12
  • ℗ 2023 Cactus Jack

Sofaygo &Quot;Go+&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, June 12, 2024

SoFaygo, a rapper from Cobb County, Georgia, is 21 years old and has quickly established himself as one of the most recognizable figures in the plugg/pluggnB & fury scenes. Since then, he has released a dozen EPs, and Houston trap pioneer Travis Scott even signed him to Cactus Jack Records, which released his long-awaited full-length debut Pink Heartz this past fall despite mainly negative reviews. However, Faygo is returning and turning what was supposed to be the deluxe edition of his last album into his 13th EP to coincide with the first anniversary of his inclusion in the XXL Freshman Class and the summer release of B4Pink.

A deluxe edition of the musician’s upcoming 2022 album Pink Heartz was anticipated, but it was later made clear that his EP GO+ would take precedence. Travis Scott revealed that a new EP would be out soon at an NBA All-Star Weekend event earlier this year. SoFaygo later validated the information Scott had previously posted on Twitter.

Album Art

Sofaygo &Quot;Go+&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, June 12, 2024

The vocalist is depicted in a modified pose as he lies down, grinning and displaying his grills, with Ice-pieces donning his hands and neck even though we can’t see his entire face. The image has a large white cross or plus sign boldly encircled, and the vocalist is the only one who can effectively interpret what this might mean for the star, who appreciates symbolism. However, one could argue that it might suggest the “added blessings” he has experienced since entering the spotlight and signing with Cactus Jack.

Tracks And Features

The EP’s first track, “Pure,” with YSL Records signee Yung Kayo, talks about refusing to let anyone cage them in, while the instrumental for “4Sum+” takes a shimmering approach and details being too up. The atmospheric feelings continue as “We Good” follows the foggy trap approach, informing his dog that they straight lead into “Ye,” comparing himself to the Chicago great Kanye West with all the swag he produces. With its peppy nature, “Ye” gives listeners a taste of what to anticipate on the EP. An easygoing melody and punchy bars combine to make an upbeat, optimistic track. With its echoing bass and ethereal vocals, the song has all the makings of a summertime classic.

As “On the Moon” has a murkier beat so he may flex lyrically once more on the lyrical front, “Fuck a Post” maintains the cloud rap trend by talking about not being on social media like that to chase the paper. After “Backseat” returns to a wide-ranging rhythm and declares that money is his best friend, “Havoc” suitably displays an edge that makes you angry while its instrumental causes destruction.

The single “Wish I Could Tell You” featuring DD Osama was an unimpressive choice because of the unmemorably airy production and the lackluster chemistry between the two musicians, but the song “Undercover” takes some cues from plugg music and becomes more sultry. “RC” creates a new trill wave beat comparing his existence to a roller coaster, and the extra track “Beautiful Rockstar” concludes the EP by vividly describing his way of life while being backed by a spacious trap instrumental.


1 PURE (feat. YUNG KAYO) SoFaygo 3:15
2 4Sum+ SoFaygo 1:58
3 We Good SoFaygo 1:48
4 Ye SoFaygo 2:11
5 F a Post SoFaygo 1:44
6 On the Moon SoFaygo 1:52
7 Backseat SoFaygo 2:35
8 Havoc SoFaygo 1:58
9 Wish I Could Tell You SoFaygo & DD Osama 2:56
10 Undercover SoFaygo 2:16
11 Rc SoFaygo 2:20
12 Beautiful Rockstar SoFaygo 2:16

Album Summary

The most recent offering by SoFaygo is good in spots and doesn’t linger too long. It doesn’t feel bloated; at just under 30 minutes, it’s a short yet enjoyable listen. There is still inconsistency, though.

It is impressive that Faygo does not overuse any one sound in this instance, for one thing. The EP’s first four songs are among its best, and when FA POST’s spacey vibe starts to become weary, ON THE MOON, which was superbly produced by BNYX, takes over. Genuinely wonderful are the bit-crushed beat of ON THE MOON and the voice of Faygo with the same effect. However, this seems to be the album’s pinnacle.


Back to top button