Rick Ross & Meek Mill “Too Good To Be True” Album Review

Too Good To Be True

Rick Ross & Meek Mill

  • Genre: Hip-Hop/Rap
  • Date: 10 Nov, 2023
  • Content: explicit
  • Track(s): 17
  • ℗ 2023 Maybach Music Group under exclusive license to gamma.

Rick Ross &Amp; Meek Mill &Quot;Too Good To Be True&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, April 24, 2024

Rick Ross and Meek Mill again prove why they are considered legends in the rap industry. The project solidifies their status as a dynamic duo and leaves fans eagerly anticipating what they will create next. As a team, the Rick Ross and Meek Mill duo have created a collaborative project that is true to its name: simply “Too Good to Be True.” The rap icons’ chemistry, lyrical skill, and musical diversity are all on full display on the album, published on 10 Nov 2023. It shows their continuing camaraderie, corporate collaboration, and shared artistic vision.

The project was formally put out under the Maybach Music label, which presently holds an exclusive license from Gamma. The two singles “Shaq & Kobe” and “Lyrical Eazy” came out before the album. In the first, Ross and Meek pay homage to the illustrious NBA duo, drawing comparisons between themselves and the players. The rappers pay tribute to Jay-Z by showcasing some of their most incredible bars while sampling his timeless song “Breathe Easy (Lyrical Exercise)”. Kid Art directed dramatic music videos for each of the songs. The album showcases their growth as artists, with each track displaying their evolution and mastery of their craft. From hard-hitting beats to introspective lyrics,

Album Art

Rick Ross &Amp; Meek Mill &Quot;Too Good To Be True&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, April 24, 2024

The album art shows the black-and-white portrait image of the superstars as they pose for the camera, with the album’s title written across in bold red. The duo have nothing to prove; they’ve already shown their mettle with years of experience in the industry’s evolution.

Tracks And Features

A little over an hour long, the 17-track album includes guest performances. The album promises to provide a fantastic listening experience, highlighting the talents of the primary artists and their featured guests, especially with such a stellar lineup.

“Too Good to Be True” is an incredible feast and a vicious masterwork of unwavering rap consistency. There are a few highlights, such as the stunning “Star Island,” which raises the heat even more after the breathtaking “Shaq & Kobe” soars into the sky. “Tears for Fears,” along with Cool, Dre, and BEAM, are the main icons for the all-star “Go to Hell” sampling.

“Dead Last” adds more subdued sounds, such as a piano that pays homage to those legendary 2Pac tracks from the mid-1990s but with a contemporary feel. The incorporation of the piano in “Dead Last” pays homage to 2Pac’s legendary tracks from the mid-1990s and adds a touch of nostalgia. However, the contemporary feel infused into the track brings a fresh and modern twist that distinguishes it from the past. French Montana is featured on “Millionaire Row,” Jeremih on “Gold Medalist,” Wale and The Dream on “Fine Lines,” Vory and Fabolous on “Dead Last,” Teyana Taylor and DJ Khaled on “Above The Law,” and Shaquille O’Neal and DAME D.O.L.L.A. (Damian Lillard) on the remix of “Shaq & Kobe.” These partnerships provide the record with various voices and genres, giving each song more nuance and variation.

Subtlety is another thing. On “Above the Law,” the excellent Teyana Taylor appears and delicately balances the song with her beauty; on “Gold Medals,” Jeremih takes the mike, and the classical guitar line adds elegance to the crunching percussion. Indeed, “Too Good to Be True” is a powerful blend that fulfils and surpasses expectations, although the production’s current solid influences mingled with numerous echoes of the duo’s past work. Furthermore, “Too Good to Be True” expertly blends modern production with aspects from their past work, creating a compelling and comprehensive musical experience. The track showcases the duo’s growth and evolution as artists, seamlessly incorporating R&B, pop, and electronic music elements into their signature sound. The result is a refreshing and dynamic composition that captivates listeners from start to finish. It closes with the dual bombast of “Millionaire Row” and “In Luv With The Money” featuring Future on “In Luv With The Money.” Additionally, the lyrics delve into themes of love, desire, and self-discovery, adding depth and emotional resonance to the already impressive musical arrangement.

It finishes as it began, with a remix of the opening song “SHAQ & KOBE,” reworked alongside Dame D.O.L.L.A. to a crowd-busting effect. Granted, not everything on this album lands precisely correct, but as a piece of eye-catching drama, “Too Good to Be True” will be hard to top in 2023. With the sounds of two authentic rap superstars fully revitalized, this record is to be treasured. It is a unique instance of a collaborative record that surpasses expectations and produces excellent music. It does seem too incredible to be true.


1 SHAQ & KOBE Rick Ross & Meek Mill 3:39
2 Star Island Rick Ross & Meek Mill 2:17
3 Go To Hell (feat. BEAM) Rick Ross, Meek Mill & Cool & Dre 3:39
4 800 Karats Rick Ross & Meek Mill 2:04
5 Dead Last Rick Ross, Meek Mill, Vory & Fabolous 4:16
6 They Don’t Really Love You Rick Ross & Meek Mill 4:38
7 Million Dollar Trap Rick Ross & Meek Mill 2:23
8 Grandiose Rick Ross, Meek Mill & Vory 2:54
9 Above The Law Rick Ross, Meek Mill, Teyana Taylor & DJ Khaled 3:32
10 Fine Lines Rick Ross, Meek Mill, Wale & The-Dream 4:58
11 Gold Medals Rick Ross, Meek Mill & Jeremih 4:32
12 Iconic Rick Ross & Meek Mill 3:44
13 Lyrical Eazy Rick Ross & Meek Mill 1:40
14 Pillow Talk Rick Ross & Meek Mill 2:42
15 Millionaire Row Rick Ross, Meek Mill & French Montana 2:46
16 In Luv With The Money Rick Ross, Meek Mill & Future 3:09
17 SHAQ & KOBE (Remix) Rick Ross, Meek Mill, Shaquille O’Neal & Dame D.O.L.L.A. 6:52

Album Summary

“Too Good to Be True,” which has been in the works for several years, is remarkably a triumph that lives up to its title, satisfying audiences and connecting with its core values. The album showcases their growth as artists, with both rappers delivering captivating verses that showcase their lyrical prowess. The production on ‘Too Good to Be True’ is also top-notch, with a diverse range of beats that perfectly complement the duo’s rhymes. In ‘Too Good to Be True,’ the pair delves into themes of triumph, perseverance, and the obstacles encountered while pursuing achievement. The lyrics have a genuine resonance that gives listeners insight into these two significant musicians’ personal and professional lives. Fans and critics praised the album for the rappers’ storytelling, flow, and chemistry. Overall, this album solidifies their place in the rap industry and leaves listeners eagerly anticipating what they will do next.


Back to top button