Yo Gotti & DJ Drama “I Showed U So” Album Review

I Showed U So

Yo Gotti & DJ Drama

  • Genre: Hip-Hop/Rap
  • Date: 03 Aug, 2023
  • Content: explicit
  • Track(s): 10
  • ℗ 2023 Inevitable Productions under exclusive license to Interscope Records

Yo Gotti &Amp; Dj Drama &Quot;I Showed U So&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, February 23, 2024

The music industry welcomes Yo Gotti’s return as he collaborates with DJ Drama for a new Gangsta Grillz mixtape titled “I Showed U So”. This latest project comes after Drama’s “I’m Really Like That” and Gotti’s “CM10: Free Game” album from last year. “I Showed U So” is a highly anticipated sequel to Gotti’s iconic Gangsta Grillz project, “I Told U So”, released in 2006, which marked a turning point in his career. After 17 years, Gotti celebrates his accomplishments and the realization of his dreams. Moreover, “I Showed U So” is Gotti’s first solo release since his 11th studio album “CM10: Free Game” in February 2022, which peaked at No. 3 on the Billboard 200, making it his highest-charting album.

Recently, Yo Gotti, co-owner of DC United, a highly regarded franchise in Major League Soccer, joined First Lady Dr Jill Biden at The White House to host a Youth Clinic. He also participated in several festivities surrounding the MLS All-Star Game in Washington, D.C., highlighting his contribution to the sport. Alongside his flourishing fan base and numerous successful albums, Yo Gotti’s influence continues to expand within the music industry and beyond. The upcoming project is a follow-up to the duo’s 2006 mixtape “I Told U So”. It’s a double disc release featuring guest appearances from Moneybagg Yo on “Mind My Business” and Rich Homie Quan on “Mandarin”.

Album Art

Yo Gotti &Amp; Dj Drama &Quot;I Showed U So&Quot; Album Review, Yours Truly, Reviews, February 23, 2024

The album artwork showcases Gotti donning a white hooded jacket while leaving and cruising in a Rolls Royce of the same colour, complete with bright lights. The cover art highlights his lavish lifestyle and suggests his enduring street credibility, symbolized by the Rolls Royce.

Tracks And Features

The latest Gangsta Grillz mixtape, “I Showed U So,” has been released by Yo Gotti, the CEO of CMG and a native of Memphis. DJ Drama collaborated with Gotti on this 10-song mixtape, which features guest appearances by Moneybagg Yo and Rich Homie Quan. The mixtape showcases Gotti’s versatility, as he transitions from gritty tracks such as “Pop My Shit” to more romantic rhymes like “The One,” where he vulnerably raps about the feeling of love and butterflies in his stomach. The mixtape also marks the reunion of Gotti and Rich Homie Quan on their new collaboration, “Mandarin,” after their hit single “I Know” from Gotti’s critically acclaimed album “I Am” ten years ago. The mixtape’s release comes after the launch of Gotti’s single and video “No Fake Love,” which features Angela Simmons.

The first track on the album, “Driveway Furniture”, is brilliant. Gotti expresses his radical style through the lyrics, while DJ Drama interjects at intervals to emphasize the importance of following the rules of the streets and how the duo has stayed true to those rules since day one. “1 Hunnid Bands” alludes to the duo’s early days in the hustle, trying to make their first $100,000. The lyrics touch on drug-related scenarios and paint a picture of the harsh realities of life on the streets.

The track “No Fake Love” by Yo Gotti is a powerful piece that highlights the artist’s invincibility and success over a booming 808 Mafia beat. The song also addresses rumours about his label and police investigations. Although the hook is relaxed, Yo Gotti’s verses are delivered efficiently and effortlessly. Overall, “Fake Love” is an excellent teaser for Yo Gotti’s upcoming album with DJ Drama.

The song “Mind My Business” by Yo Gotti and MoneyBagg Yo clarifies that they are not role models. Gotti talks about his trust issues with women, vivid dreams about his kitchen, and carrying a significant weapon in the club. In MoneyBagg Yo’s verse, he suggests that his listeners have nothing in common with him because their women are less desirable, and their bank accounts are emptier. The song’s raw sound and nonchalant delivery by Gotti and MoneyBagg caught my attention. However, the powerful and dynamic production compensates for the lack of emotion.

“Mandarin”, featuring Rich Homie Quan, is unquestionably one of the most impressive tracks on the album. The powerful duo delivers rap verses that delve into the themes of loyalty, trust, and camaraderie while exploring the intricacies of the rap game. Without a doubt, this track not only meets but exceeds all expectations, making it an absolute must-listen for any true hip-hop fan.

In the song “The One,” Yo Gotti expresses his love and appreciation for his significant other. He talks about spoiling her and acknowledges that she has had a positive impact on his life, giving him butterflies. While the lyrics are captivating, it’s essential not to overlook Gotti’s impressive flow and how it complements the lively trap beat. Additionally, in “POV,” Gotti shares his opinion on people’s lives but acknowledges that it’s not his place to interfere.

As the album nears its end, the last track, “I’m Out”, takes a more relaxed pace. The artist takes a moment to appreciate their blessings, reflect on their past struggles, and prepare for what is yet to come.


1 Driveway Furniture Yo Gotti & DJ Drama 3:41
2 1st Hunnid Bands Yo Gotti & DJ Drama 2:39
3 Mind My Business Yo Gotti, DJ Drama & Moneybagg Yo 3:11
4 No Fake Love Yo Gotti & DJ Drama 2:26
5 Pop My Shit Yo Gotti & DJ Drama 3:05
6 The One Yo Gotti & DJ Drama 2:42
7 Mandarin (feat. Rich Homie Quan) Yo Gotti & DJ Drama 2:59
8 Ha Ha Yo Gotti & DJ Drama 1:38
9 POV Yo Gotti & DJ Drama 2:49
10 I’m Out Yo Gotti & DJ Drama 3:34

Album Summary

It’s important to note that Yo Gotti’s most recent mixtape project was put together in under a week. Gotti appears to be enjoying recent successes while also winding down his time as a rapper, so fans will probably appreciate where he is in his life and career. It’s crucial to remember that this mixtape was made entirely for entertainment purposes. Even though he describes how the streets have been for him in “I Showed U So,” Gotti doesn’t offer many road lessons, doesn’t include many guests, and doesn’t even seem mainly engaged most of the time. Instead, he devotes much of the mixtape to sharing personal reflections and justifications for why he believes he’s among the most authentic rappers. Despite this, the beats on the project are impressive. They showcase his unique style and flow.


Back to top button